distractedblog

Welcome to Distracted Blog!

Posted on: September 23, 2011

Greetings, good people of the Internet!

I’d like to welcome you to my blog by telling you a little bit about myself and about this blog.

My name is Rebecca Rizoli. I live in Massachusetts, and I’m in my 30’s.  I recently finished writing a memoir, “Distracted Girl,” about growing up with Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD), and I am looking into getting it published.  The book describes my years in school; beginning in second grade when I was first diagnosed, up through college graduation.

Today, the disorder is referred to as ADHD (Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder).  Children and adults who are diagnosed today are categorized as having one of three types: either predominately inattentive, predominately hyperactive, or combined type.  However, in the 1980’s and 1990’s,  people were diagnosed as having either ADD or ADHD.  Today, I would be diagnosed as ADHD-Predominately Inattentive, but in 1986, I was diagnosed with ADD.  For this reason, in my book I refer to the disorder as ADD, but in this blog I will refer to it as ADHD (except on the occasions when I am blogging about my earlier years, when I will refer to it as ADD).

I am hoping that my book, as well as this blog, will serve as an inspiration to those who have ADHD, as well as their parents and the professionals who work with them.  I am particularly hoping to reach girls and women with ADHD, as there is not as much material for them as there is for boys and men with ADHD.  Several men with ADHD have written similar memoirs about their experiences with the disorder, but there currently are none written by women with ADHD. I am hoping that I can be a voice and a role model for girls and women with ADHD.

I hope that girls with ADHD will read my words and know that they aren’t the only one in their situation, and that learning about my struggles and successes will help them  to realize that they, too, can be successful in their lives.

 

Happy reading!

2 Responses to "Welcome to Distracted Blog!"

I can not wait to read your book…..I am so excited for you!

I look forward to reading this blog whenever there is a post. I know it will be informative and well written.

Leave a Reply

